Zero to Zen

/ZEN/ involves dropping illusion and seeing things without distortion created by your own thoughts

Cupid everyday

on February 15, 2013

image
Today is… valentine’s day. To the world it’s the day of romance. To me it’s misleading and it confuses the sprit. I am not writing to be harsh about this beautiful celebratory day. I am just simply sharing some opinions. I feel more than content with the love in my life; I am truly blessed married to such a romantic man. Today just seems to be so misguiding to most.

For one if you chose one day a year (feb 14) to really put your best into romance, and if this is an expectation of society and the set normal, than why do we wonder about divorce rates? Don’t get me wrong valentine’s day shouldn’t take the blame for the separations, but isn’t in interesting how our society puts an emphases on making one day The Day for Love?

I know many people who say that in their marriage or relationship, Valentine’s Day is special but it’s not the only day they make romantic and give gifts and light candles and orchestrate surprises. I am sure most people feel this way, the majority of those I have spoken with about the matter do. But we see a pattern here if we look at the direction and momentum of society. What if we challenged ourselves more to pay attention to what our spirit wants? What if we created our own momentum in our marriages and relationships? What if we craved more truth and started asking our creator what He designed for love between man and woman?

It’s been brought to my attention that certain decisions or expectations I cling to, have been planted by the wrong source. I find my spirit in conflict when the picture in my head isn’t the picture being painted in front of me. That conflict I feel is discontent with this place. Being surrounded by flesh and worldly values. I get trapped in the same wave everyone is riding and when it crashes on the sand I want to throw a child’s temper tantrum. All inclusive: Pounding on the ground in such an embarrassing way. It isn’t pretty. This just happened to me recently and when I stopped, took a breath and looked around I realized I needed to let go of the image I had of the way this world says things should go, or else let my marriage crash just like the wave.  The only way I find content is when I seek to fulfill the purpose love God had in mind when He created me, not what everyone tells me to do.

If we realize every day that the enemy may have a heavy influence in this world, but we recognize that the God we know is the King of it and conquered, then we can feel confidence in following our spirit. Don’t wake and dwell on the bad things, the news, the pain or stress; don’t make yourself so aware of the enemy’s power with his darkness. Wake up and remind yourself that we are told to be joyful, we were created to love and be loved. That’s the wonder of it all! Philippians 4:6 says it all. You can read this verse on my page SCRIPTURE.

Focusing everything back to love. If we don’t let others even if they may be believers (or spiritual people or high up in the church) set the standards and paint the picture of what life should look like, and we let God and scripture lay that out for us than imagine the possibilities. You’re right. We cannot: God has such unlimited possibilities, resources, power, ideas and creativity it should blow our mind every day. The problem- We get so narrow minded. Agree? Let’s escape our tunnel vision, and let God just pour His creative ideas into our life. That is my prayer. I am begging God to blow my mind. I want to be reminded that there is so much we cannot grasp and there is so much more in love and life and living, but we let this world set the standards. Well I often do.( I’m raising my hand high to that one)

I would love to hear from you, let me know what keeps you hostage in your tunnel vision. Or share ideas with me on how to get creative in my life. What are some things you do in your life that seems different to others but inspires greatness and joy? For example, my husband just told me about a couple he knows that made a promise to each other that they wouldn’t spend money on valentine’s day or birthdays, and instead they would focus on saving money to travel every five years. One of my patients at work told me that every few weeks she sends the kids out of the house for a night. She puts on a dress, lights candles all over the house and has dinner ready on the table for her husband who works full time. She reminded me of something beautiful I will always cherish, she said “don’t wait till there has to be a reason or excuse for romance and a special act of kindness. There doesn’t need to be a reason for candles and ten extra minutes getting ready for your husband, just simply to show love.

Comment or email me, I would love to hear your ideas and thoughts. Does not have to be focused towards marriage could just be everyday things.

I had a very romantic day with my husband. I hope you all were blessed or will be blessed this week with love!


Leave a comment